Cricket: St. Thomas’ Vs. Wesley

Story from ThePapare

The traditional fixture between S. Thomas’ College and Wesley College commenced today at Mount Lavinia. The Thomian skipper Sithara Hapuhinna won the toss and chose to bat first in their own backyard. The two openers Sithara Hapuhinna and Shalin de Mel provided a solid start to the innings but the former was dismissed for 21 runs when the score was at 32.

Thereafter, the hosts continued to lose wickets at regular intervals without any significant partnership as they declared the innings at 152 runs for 9 wickets. Umayanga Suwaris showed some resistance with the bat scoring 45 runs off 76 balls. Left-arm spinner Thenuka Perera bowled 14.4 overs and picked up 5 wickets for 31 runs for the visitors.

In reply, the visiting openers Thisuraka Akmeemana and Buddima Wijesundara gave them a similar start to the innings putting on a 32 run partnership but the rest of the batting failed against some quality spin bowling shown by left-arm spinner Dellon Peiris. The visitors were bundled out for just 91 runs with former skipper Peiris picking up 7 wickets for 26 runs in his 13 over spell.

With this 7-wicket haul, Dellon Peiris now has picked up 55 wickets in this season including three 5-wicket hauls. With a 61-run lead, Sithara Hapuhinna and Deon Fernando opened the innings for the hosts and managed to remain unbeaten at the crease scoring 46 runs in 11 overs at close of play.

Brief scores

Thomas’ College – 152/9d (44.4) Umayanga Suwaris 45, Thevin Eriyagama 22, Sithara Hapuhinna 21, Thenuka Perera 5/31 & 46/0 (11) Sithara Hapuhinna 31*, Deon Fernando 14*

Wesley College – 91 (36.3) Buddima Wijesundara 19, Thisuraka Akmeemana 19, Dellon Peiris 7/26, Kishan Munasinghe 2/2, Tehan Schaffter 1/11

Click here for more details>>>

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.